Portrait Reviews

See more of our reviews on Facebook.

“We had an amazing experience with David during our photo session! He was an incredible photographer, working hard the whole time to make sure our entire large group received enough attention and plenty of shots. He had to contend with six adults and two babies and had us all looking great and having a good time! The results so far have been phenomenal – we loved the sneak peek photos! Their communication has been prompt and detailed; we appreciate all their attention to corresponding with us. We could not recommend David more!”   Amy, October 5, 2022

“David made the picture taking experience enjoyable. The time went by so fast. Most people dread getting pictures taken as we do. That was until we met him. It’s was actually fun and we all enjoyed the time.”   Jason Totten, September 27, 2022

“David and Birgit were incredible to work with from my very first inquiry to the end product! Birgit was quick to correspond with answers to any and all of my questions. Their organization is absolutely top notch and seriously makes all the difference! We received a few online forms to fill out to both, help the shoot go smoothly and to personalize the experience. One form included lists of all participants by name and separated by family as well as what we were looking for in a photoshoot (ie. location, style, what colors we would be wearing), another form asked to fill out all of the different shots that we would like. That list got printed out and brought to the shoot to ensure we got every shot that we wanted. Soon after, another email was sent with tips to make our photoshoot pleasant and successful which was a nice touch. David helped with location suggestions and hit the nail on the head with Kukio Beach. A last email was sent with detailed directions to the location where we were met with a smile by Uncle Beach aka David! The photoshoot was amazing and David was great with the whole family but most especially with our 3 and 7 year old children who thought he was the coolest! We were worried that we might not get all the shots we were hoping for because there were 9 of us in the photos but David got every shot we were hoping for plus more! We are awaiting the final product but did get a sneak peek within 24 hours and based on what we did get to see, I know the rest of photos will be fantastic! Thank you David and Birgit! We will absolutely be recommending you to anyone visiting the island! Thank you from the Tuboly/ Lopez-Tiana family!”   Missy Tuboly, July 30, 2022

“We had a wonderful experience with David… looking at our photos, we realize even more how special this hour of photography was with the whole family present. The kids enjoyed David’s humor and comments along the way. We will have lifetime memories at our fingertips. Do not hesitate to incorporate David into your vacation plans! He’s excellent….”   Sharon Shope, July 10, 2022

“We had such a great experience having David photograph our family! We can’t thank him enough for making the experience memorable and fun. David does a wonderful job of bringing out the natural smiles. If you are ever in Hawaii be sure to book a session with him. You won’t be disappointed!!”    The Dauer Family, June 26, 2022

“As you know that stretch of sand is in many ways sacred to our clan. Four generations of our family have splashed in the surf and spied sunsets from the grassy expanse. You captured our love of the place beautifully and you accomplished the assignment with a professionalism and sense of joy that we will long remember. We are grateful.”   Steve Churm, June 16, 2022

“Couldn’t recommend “Uncle Beach” I mean David more. My kids loved him, my parents loved him. Smashing success! We look forward to using him again in the future.”   Katie, June 16, 2022

“We had David (AKA Uncle Beach) do our family photos. He was AWESOME!!!! We have grandkids age 10 months to 9 years. He was so good with them…they LOVED Uncle Beach. Can’t say enough good things about our experience.”    Dana Dunford, June 13, 2022

“Simply Superb! I booked David O for our family of four photo shoot. Reading his website I had a hunch that his decades of experience and love for what he does will make for a great experience. We weren’t disappointed. From the get-go David made my family (kids 9 and 14) feel at ease and his jokes left us in stitches. He guided our poses and got amazing shots. We covered a bunch of the beach – driftwood, sand, lava, water, honu (with proper distancing) – whole family, kids by themselves, my wife and me, walking, sitting. The variety of shots – flash, no flash, against the sunset, golden light on our faces – just fantastic. We just got the early proofs of a dozen of the shots and love them. We will definitely call David when back on the Big Island.”   Max Spivak April, 23, 2022

“Uncle Beach (David) was just delightful! He had the whole family laughing and feeling comfortable throughout the photoshoot! When I put my 6 year old daughter to sleep last night, I asked her what she liked most about Hawaii. She said “Uncle Beach!!” We got a sampling of the photos, and they were stunning. Thank you David and Birgit for great communication, photos and kindness. I’d recommend you a million times over! Mahalo.   Tiffanny Turner Brooks, February 16, 2022

 

“David was an absolute pleasure to work with. The kids loved him and candidly so did we. Thank you David for a very special evening! Can’t wait to do it next year!!!   Tom, December 25, 2021

“David was a total delight to work with, making the shoot both easy and fun with a child in tow and elderly parent / pregnant – the time flew by and we’re so pleased with the results. Would recommend for any families or couples looking for memorable shots in Hawaii!”   Jess Weiss, November 28, 2021

David and Birgit were able to squeeze us in for a family sunset photo session during our first vacation to Hawaii. David (aka Uncle Beach)was so interactive and engaging with our 4 kids that for the first time ever, we were able to experience a photo session that was genuinely fun! The pictures captured are AMAZING and far exceeded my expectations! I highly recommend!!!”   Randy Adree Williams, August 29, 2021

“David aka Uncle Beach was very down to earth and had a good eye on the scenery needed to capture our special moments during our photo shoot. His wife Birgit was so organized and prompt when we contacted them initially to book our photo session, they took us at short notice and it made our Trip in Kona, Hawaii! We highly recommend David and Birgit for any occasion for capturing your special moments and lastly David has the best personality to make you feel right at home! Mahalo Birgit and David from the Stews and little M&M”.  Murphey Stewart, August 18, 2021

“We just wanted to thank you again for the wonderful experience at our photo shoot! I was skeptical about how successful it would be with a baby and toddler (and wasn’t looking forward to having to wrangle them into poses amidst protests and tears), but, David, you turned it into an engaging activity for them rather than something they were being forced to do. No sitting still, fake smiles, or bribery needed – just fun! It was like having a photo shoot with Mary Poppins!”   Rachelle Lafranchi, August 12, 2021

“I can’t express how much we appreciate you guys working with us on the photos. David was incredible! He just made our whole family feel comfortable and made this an experience that even our Grandaddy enjoyed… and that’s saying a lot when it comes to photos.”    Alisha McDonald, July 22, 2021

“We had a really wonderful time on Sunday morning with David – he is an excellent photographer, but his friendliness, enthusiasm, and stories really made it a top notch experience!”   Shannon Tubbs, July 18, 2021

“We just took family photos with David early this morning and we loved having him as our photographer! My kids (who, like most kids, don’t want to take yet another photo) actually said they want to do it again and with Mr. Beach (David’s nickname). If that isn’t the biggest compliment, then I don’t know what is! If you want to capture your vacation or special event, David and his wonderful wife Birgit are so accommodating and kind. Go with them!”   Urmi Rahman, June 29th, 2021

“David just shot my surprise engagement to my long-time girlfriend and he was absolutely amazing. He was organized, provided extremely helpful tips for setting the shoot up, took amazing photos, and had fair prices. If you’re looking for a photographer on the big island, look no further! Thanks again David!”   Brynn & Will, December 5, 2020

“David was a real trooper, filming our large family outside in gust-like winds! He kept us laughing through the process and we all had fun. The photos will be treasured memories of our extraordinary trip. “Uncle Beach,” you rock!”   Fran Johnson, February 18, 2020

“We couldn’t have asked for a better experience. David and his wife were so responsive and helpful. He picked out the most beautiful venue & we had a wonderful sunset photo session. He kept it fun for the kids, and we were all laughing. The photos are a beautiful way for us to remember a very special trip.”  Catherine Rajwani, February 15, 2020

“David took our surprise proposal photos and we had an amazing time. David was so nice and engaging. He helped plan so that it would remain a surprise and suggested the most beautiful location for it. He kept us laughing throughout the entire shoot and even stayed late to take advantage of the lighting at sunset. The pictures look great!”   Eric Street, December 11, 2019

“We finally managed to get our whole family (10 of us with kids and grandkids) to the Big Island for a week. This is an unusual event so we wanted some memories and asked David to take pictures. From the moment he arrived he made our experience so much fun. Both big and little kids were enthralled by his happy personality. We put ourselves completely in his hands for choice of location, lighting, posing etc – and the results were truly wondrous. All agreed that these are the best pics we have ever had of our family. David is a pleasure to work with and we will definitely use him on our next visit. Thank you so much!”   Simon Harrison, October 23, 2019

“These pictures were taken by Uncle Beach. He was our photographer when we traveled to Hawaii a couple of years ago. We had never had professional family photos taken until then and the experience was amazing. I feel like he is part of the family and enjoy his hump day pics every Wednesday. Definitely follow him, his pics will fill your eye with wonder, your mind with wisdom and your heart with joy!! Say hi to Elvis for us Uncle Beach!!”   Lori Campos, September 25, 2019

“David was the funnest photographer I have ever had the pleasure to work with. He went above and beyond to make our family smiled and just have a good time. He made my sons proposal so much fun and is an amazing photographer! I would highly recommend him!”   Shabonya Dutton, August 24, 2019

“So so so glad we found ‘Uncle Beach’! From the minute we reached out, David and Birgit could not have been more organized, communicative, or helpful, from scheduling to suggesting locations based on our family’s needs. But beyond that-they were flexible enough to reschedule our shoot last minute when the weather foiled our best laid plans. Once at the shoot, David was great with the whole family-from my parents to my kids. He humored both my total ham older child and my sometimes recalcitrant young child, and from the preview shots we got just hours (!!!) later, his magic worked. The hardest part of the experience will be picking the pictures we like best! Hoping we get to come back to Hawaii, and would definitely work with David again in a heartbeat!!! Delightful and easy to work with, two thumbs up!”   Sari Laufer, August 22, 2019

“We are absolutely in love with these photos. Anyone looking for a photographer on the island I highly recommend David. From communicating with his wife to photoshoot to very end we had the most pleasant experience. David was great!   Jacky Diaz, August 1, 2019

“I’m so happy that I found David, online, before we went to Hawaii. He and his wife sent us helpful information about where to meet and how to dress for the photo shoot. We asked for pictures to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and our son’s senior year. I’m so impressed with how he delivered! He took the most amazing pictures of our family of five. David is a gifted photographer and when you combine that with the natural beauty of the Big Island you get magic.”   Kelly Spradley, July 26, 2019

“​I got my engagement photos done with David yesterday and had an even better experience then what I had hoped for. He was professional, friendly, enthusiastic, and super knowledgeable. The shoot was a ton of fun. David really helped to make us comfortable(never having done any sort of professional photography my fiancé & I both felt a bit awkward & unsure of ourselves through the first few photos) & David broke through that right away. I had a dozen or so examples of poses & shots I wanted to capture in our photos session & David really nailed what I was looking for while also bringing his unique artistic ability to our photos. The sample photos we were sent today are so beautiful, I cannot wait to receive the rest to share with everyone! I would recommend David to anyone looking for not only fantastic photos but the experience to match! Thanks again David! You really helped to make our whole engagement trip unforgettable!​  Kyle Degennaro, July 19, 2019

“David was fabulous, as well as his wife. He was easy to work with and made my husband & I feel very comfortable. He went above and beyond for us and I could never have dreamed of a more perfect vacation/ anniversary photographer. He will not let you down.”   Danielle Amedee, June 5, 2019

“We used David for our wedding, maternity and family photos. He does an amazing job! He listens to what you like and is so easy going and our toddler warmed up to him so fast and David was able to get some amazing photos of her. I highly recommend him!”   Kelsey Taylor, May 23, 2019

“My wife and I did a family vacation in Hawaii for a week. We have two young boys (3.5 years old and 1.5 years old). We never had done professional photos while our boys were infants so this was the first photo shoot we purchased. We felt that Hawaii would be a great opportunity and backdrop to finally invest in a photographer. Anyone that has children this age understands the challenge of getting your kids to cooperate in these types of situations. We were investing hundreds of dollars into professional photos and wanted to make the most of our time. David was the consumate professional throughout the shoot. “Uncle Beach” not only took beautiful family photos but also played a big role in keeping the kids engaged and participatory throughout. David made sure to keep things quick while also getting high quality shots that we will cherish and share with our family. I highly recommend David O. Baldwin Photography for anyone looking for a professional photo shoot while in Hawaii.”   Marino Ruiz, May 9, 2019

“David is incredibly talented, and he can turn any precious memory into a work or art!:) I highly recommend him to anyone traveling to the Big Island and wanting to take professional pictures. He will go above and beyond to make sure that you are 100% satisfied. Mahalo, David!”   Emelie, April 26, 2019

“David aka Uncle Beach was a joy to work with and he made our first photo session with our grand baby so memorable. David was funny, creative, and really good with our grandson! Thank you David!”   Miki Fontes, March 28, 2019

“You are SOOOOO talented. The pics are absolutely amazing. We’ve done A LOT of family photo session over the years and all of us said yours was hands down the best….Thanks again.”    Rebecca Cannom, December 30, 2018

“Our beautiful day was made perfect by capturing spectacular moments! David was genuine, relaxed, kind-spirited, and incredibly professional! He worked flawlessly with our small children, and was attentive to our requests. His expertise was unmatchable! THANK YOU for helping us create everlasting memories!” The Carlsons    Leslie Carlson, October 7, 2018

“David Baldwin captured our family of 18 celebrating our 50th Anniversary in June, 2018. He was nothing short of TERRIFIC in working with our 10 grandchildren between the ages of 17 years and 6 weeks of age. He took individual shots of each child and several frames of various family units. David’s patience with children was remarkable, yet his artist’s eye was quite professional in suggesting sites, poses & candids that amplified the great lighting available both indoors and outside of our rental home on the cliffs above Mauna Lani Bay…. David’s assistant, Birgit, graciously spent hours on the phone with me and at her computer to complete my order that involved extensive photoshop work. The results are priceless lifetime memories both in framed portraits and a fabulous acordian-style Christmas card with a heartfelt message, names and ages of grandchildren to facilitate friends’ identifying our three sons’ individual family units. David tries immeasurably to bring your vision into focus and create portraits that tell your individual story. We highly recommend DAVID BALDWIN PHOTOGRAPHY to chronicle your special occasion or merely for a fun experience on Hawaii’s Big Island! THANKS FOR THE MEMORIES!”  Carole & Jack Nunn Wilson, 2018

“These photos are absolutely stunning. I cannot wait to see the remainder… We’re blown away by how you were not only able to capture the beauty of the backdrop but also create such a relaxing environment where we could completely be ourselves. Thank you for the memorable experience you provided our family. Until yesterday,we were completely unaware a professional photo shoot could be fun! We look forward to working with you again in a few years when we return to the island. Thank you so much again. We could not be happier!”   Leslie Ritchie, October 7, 2018

“In addition to taking gorgeous photos of our family, David made the process fun and kept us laughing. He made sure we got all the shots we wanted as well as suggesting the best spots and poses. Definitely would use again.   Tara Sears Lee, September 7, 2019

David photographed my daughter for her senior pictures. He has a great easy-going approach, always checking in to ensure we were getting the types of pictures she wanted. And, he took advantage of opportunities that presented themselves. For example, when we were doing some water shots a turtle wandered into the shot … he immediately took advantage of the opportunity and the result was the sweetest picture of my daughter and the turtle looking at each other. We are already scheduled for family pictures in a couple of months! Highly recommend.” Karen Miller, July 27, 2018

“David and his wife are absolutely amazing people. I can’t say enough about them. The moment I first spoke to David on the phone I knew he would be the perfect photographer for my surprise engagement. His pure excitement made me even more excited and confident. I think he was as excited as I was. His level of detail between email and texts was amazing. I would, without a doubt, recommend him for anything photography related.”   Erik Plath, July 16, 2018

“We had the most enjoyable experience with David. He made us feel at ease and brought out the best in my boys. He was extremely professional and took the most amazing pictures of my family. We loved so many of them that I upgraded my package after seeing them all, with no pressure at all from David. The pictures spoke for themselves. His wife was amazing to work with as well. She was so efficient with our pictures. I highly recommend David and Birgit on your next visit to the Big Island, Hawaii.”   Rosan Hervol, July 7, 2018

“This is the second time David has photographed our family of 17. We have so much fun with him that we sort of forget that he is actually working. He puts everyone at ease and manages to get not only the shots that we request but great candids as well. As many have said, David and Birgit are both very professional, are very attentive to their clients and think of everything down to the smallest detail. Our trip to the Big Island 2 ½ years ago was to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary and we wanted more than candids to document that event. We were so pleased with the resulting photographs that when we came this year to celebrate 2 high school graduations and a 50th birthday we just had to have him capture those moments as well. Time is fleeting. Don’t miss a chance to have David capture some wonderful family memories.”   Elaine Lowell, July 3, 2018

“David was absolutely excellent. Our granddaughter’s graduation shoot today was perfect. David’s relaxed demeanor put Katie at ease and his personality was so refreshing! Birgit’s communication from the time of scheduling through finding setting location was timely and thorough. David answered our call immediately when we were concerned about the weather after arriving on the Big Island. Sample pics are phenomenal! Thank you, Birgit and David for your expertise!”   Joyce Ameen, June 5, 2018

“Hi Uncle Beach! I was one of the many people that you photographed last week at the Putnam’s at the Mauna Kea. First, you were so great!! I am also a photographer and I just wanted to comment on how wonderfully enthusiastic you were. You made everyone (adults and kids) feel super comfortable. But, especially kids. I know personally that it is difficult to get kids to smile, especially in massive groups, and you did a great job.”   Abbey Drummond, April 5, 2018

“I wanted a sunset family photo while in Hawaii and David got the exact photos I was hoping for. He’s absolutely fantastic. Very good value as well. Highly recommend using him for any event.”   Lisa Maahs, March 29, 2018

“We had a wonderful experience with David! He was amazing with my children! He caught their attention right off and engaged with them the entire time! He made family pictures fun which is hard to do! We would for sure use him again and can’t wait to see all the images!”   Emily Bullen, March 28, 2018

“David is so awesome! Our pictures went amazingly smooth with our family of 8 including a toddler! He was really engaging with the toddler too. I would totally recommend him for any pics! Thanks again David and Birgit!”   TJ Alexander, February 13, 2018

“After a lot of research and talking with a few photographers I was glad I chose to work with David & Birgit for a surprise proposal. I was continually impressed with both of them. Birgit was quick to respond and did a wonderful job coordinating everything. David captured exceptional pictures and we both loved his enthusiasm – it is quite apparent he loves what he does and it shows. He had no trouble getting us to smile. And to top things off, David played his part perfectly with the surprise proposal and my fiancé never saw it coming. It would be a pleasure to work with them again! So, if you’re looking for some great pictures & even better service check this awesome duo out!”   Josiah Weitzel, January 6, 2018

“Our family had a great experience with David and Birgit. The photos came out great.  Pricing was very competitive with other outfits we considered.  The shoot itself was enjoyable and David had a very good way of working with our three young children. The customer service before and after the shoot was terrific. Highly recommend.”   Dennis Sinclitico, November 8, 2017

“We had a fantastic time having our family photos taken with David!  We are a family of four with two kids (ages 12 and 8) and he made it so fun for all of us!  The photos are spectacular and the way he captures the sunsets is truly magical.  I know I am going to have a hard time choosing my photos as they are all great! I would highly recommend David, he is very professional, on time and knows exactly what he is doing.  We would definitely use him again in the future!   Kristen Jones, August 20, 2017

“It’s hard to overstate what a professional and pleasant experience it was working with “Mr. Beach”. The kids adored him, he is perfectly easy to work with, and the pictures really look amazing. I really can’t think of one negative thing to say!” Xander McMahon, August 4, 2017

“If we could give 10 out of 5 stars, we would. We loved our photo shoot with David. The photos are stunning. THANK YOU! We loved his creativity with each shot. The colors are spectacular. My husband and kids are definitely no-frills, and would be easily intimidated by any sort of photo shoot, but he made them (and me for that matter!) feel so comfortable. David has a real fun personality. Communication was excellent. We had photos in our inbox within hours of the photo shoot. That’s amazing in itself.
WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND! THANK YOU DAVID FOR CAPTURING A WONDERFUL MEMORY FOR OUR FAMILY!” Mary Ann Haly, July 29, 2017

“This is our second time having David take our pictures. He is so friendly and funny, that its like hanging out with a friend.(that’s taking our pictures) He listens to our ideas and suggestions on the kind of pictures we were looking for, and captured our personalities to a tee. The pictures turned out great. Next time we are on the Big Island, we’ll be looking for David again. Thanks also to Birgit for the things that go on behind the scenes. We appreciate everything you two do to make our photos beautiful and memorable. Thanks again.” Nancy Swiderski, July 27, 2017

“David and Birgit – thank you! We just finished the most amazing sunset shoot with Uncle Beach! We are a large family with lots of moving parts. David’s energy and professionalism made our experience smooth and fantastically fun!!!! We have never had such an amazing family photo shoot. Sample photos came to us the next morning and we are extremely pleased with the results. We can’t wait to come back to Kona to have Uncle Beach work his camera magic.”   Sarah Carter, July 27, 2017

“We just did a family photo shoot & David was AMAZING! He was so engaging with my son (15 months) & took a lot of amazing photos of our family. He is great at putting you at ease & rolling with the punches. He’s also super dedicated to getting great shots – he even went waist deep in the water to catch a special photo of my husband tossing our son in the air. The photos we’ve received are beautiful & we will cherish them forever. We will always be using David for our photos whenever we return to the Mauna Kea.” Claudia Serrano, June 29, 2017

“We were a family of 8 which included an almost 2 and almost 5 year old, on up to Papa – age almost 70. haha! We all had fun if you can believe that! And more importantly there were so many great shots we couldn’t help but choose the all inclusive deluxe package. He and his wife were easy to work with, clear in communications, and timely in finishing the photos. Be sure to take his advice about the time of day, place, etc. as he really understands what he is doing and how to get the best shots. Oh, and “Uncle Beach” was great with the kids! Got some action shots of them as well as family shots without tongues sticking out or frowny faces!”  Patricia Barnes, June 20, 2017

“David was so wonderful to work with last evening for our family photos!!! He somehow managed to corral 18 people ranging from ages 4 to 75 to produce some spectacular photos! Half the group was teens and they had a blast! We saw a sneak preview of the photos this morning and they are amazing! What great memories he captured!”   Kristi Nuelle, June 14, 2017

“It can be a challenge to select a photographer long distance, but let me assure you that you WILL NOT go wrong with David. Not only is he personable with all ages, but he takes amazing pictures that are sure to become family heirlooms. Plus, we saw images just a few short hours after our shoot AND our whole gallery was completed very promptly. I have a 5 year old who can be shy around strangers, but David made her feel comfortable right away. It was a wonderful session and he was able to get BEAUTIFUL pictures of all 11 of the extended family.”   Marta Zaborowski Ukropina, May 29, 2017

“Fabulous family picture. David has it down. He was able to corral our family for a fantastic 1 hour photo shoots before we melted in the sun. Great with kids, grumpy husbands and getting in that sneaky shot which truly shows the personality of our families. Thank you!”   Kimber Felton, May 29, 2017

“David did a fabulous job for our whole family. The pictures capture the wonderful time we had on vacation. I highly recommend him if you’re on the Big Island. He had our five year old granddaughter enjoying the experience.”   Nancy Walsh,  April 26, 2017 

“David and Birgit were especially wonderful for my fiancés and my engagement shoot! My fiancé hired David to take pictures of him proposing, but it was all a surprise to me! David played the part of a pro photographer hired to take shots of the helicopter tour we went on, and he played the part perfectly! Without me suspecting a thing, he got the best shots of every moment. They were timely, professional, and most importantly fun! Adam and I were extremely happy with the product produced by David and Birgit and they were such a pleasure to work with! We highly recommend their work to capture your most precious memories. Thank you David and Birgit!” Stevie Hermansen, April 22, 2017

“David and Birgit are an absolute pleasure to work with. So unbelievably talented and we couldn’t be happier with the priceless images and memories created. Not only was this a fun experience for us with David’s wonderful personality, but David and Birgit planned out every detail of this photo shoot. This was a surprise engagement shoot at sunset with so many variables. Their attention to detail and positive energy took all of the stress off of me and allowed us to live in the moment. Thank you for everything! We look forward to doing this again soon.”   Ryan Blasdell, March 27, 2017

David was recommended by the concierge at our hotel and he was a great choice for our family. I originally just wanted family photos of our 3 adult children, their spouses and our almost 2 year old granddaughter. I knew we had only an hour to shoot but when we met, he was excited to add couples pictures, pregnancy (we had 2) pictures and lots of pictures of our sweet granddaughter. We all agreed the pictures were pretty fabulous and couldn’t choose just 10 so David allowed us to upgrade our package so we could own them all! We definitely will use David again on our next Hawaii vacay when our family will be even bigger!   Michele, February 24, 2017

Our entire family would highly recommend David!”This was our second time using David for our family photo shoot.. I can’t say enough of how amazing he is, especially working with 4 kids!! He somehow got great shots of our 1 yr old and 3 month old. I have never liked pictures of myself, and don’t let anyone take pictures of me ever. He made me so comfortable and carefree. He was able to capture beautiful photos of all 10 of us. Then, we had a sneak peek of some of our photos just hours later! I couldn’t recommend him enough. If you live or are visiting Kailua, he is your go to photographer!”   Jessica, February 12, 2017

“I will forever treasure my recent photography experience in Kona with David! He inspired me to embrace the moment and brought out my natural essence during the shoot. His wife is a gem and quite lovely. She was helpful and offered suggestions on flowers and such for the photo shoot! Maholo, Brenda”.  Brenda Janot, January 29, 2017

“Our session this morning with David was GREAT! He LOVES his job and it shows in his work and the way he treats his clients. We had a WONDERFUL time!”   Bert Stout, January 24, 2017

“David is amazing — he made our family laugh and relax as he took so many fabulous images. We never felt rushed or pressured – our grandboys (4 of them) all giggled at his jokes and the pictures reflected natural poses of a family having fun!”   Meira Mathison, January 18, 2017

“David and Birgit did such an amazing job in communicating with me and helping me to find the perfect location to propose to my girlfriend! He even went out of his way to arrive early to the beach where I proposed in order to scout out the area, and to find the place that was the least crowded that would provide the absolute best shot of the proposal. We absolutely love the photos. David was a blast to work with and clearly enjoys what he does. I would highly recommend going with him for any of your photography needs!”   Brendan Daugherty, January 1, 2017

“WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!! They’re tremendous!!!! You guys are really great at what you do! We had great fun and the results are unbelievable! We’ll go to the next package and take ALL of David’s creations.”   Max Stead, December 27, 2016

“We loved our time with David and think that the samples you have sent out are amazing.  The sense of calm that David was able to establish with our family in such a short period of time made the whole experience that much better. ”   Michelle Hodson, December 21, 2016

“David is magic…I decided that with our 15 family members, most being children, there was no way a family series of photos could be successful, especially with the children ranging in ages from  2 to 16 plus a sprinkling of adults. I needed a good professional photography for capturing our wonderful trip.  After calling the Mauna Kea where we were staying and getting rave reviews from them, I called his darling wife who walked me through the process. To say the least, we were not disappointed but estactic over the results.  He managed to make it a fun time, captured precious moments and all were so pleased with the results. Having worked myself with a well known Texas photographer for years, I know how difficult all this can be, but as I said, David is magic. I just wish I could show you the wonderful results of his keen eye and special gift of photography that made our pictures and session a most memorable occasion. thank you, David!   Elizabeth Feuille, November 19, 2016

“David made our photo session so enjoyable and relaxing. He captured some great expressions and the surroundings were just gorgeous! If you are looking for a fun and patient photographer, look no further. We love our family pictures!” Brenda Browning, November 25, 2016

“We would highly recommend David Baldwin. We had two teenagers who were not exactly thrilled at the prospect of a photo session. David immediately put them at ease and made the 1 hour fly by!! Our photos were so unique and truly showed the beauty of the Hawaiian coast it will be hard to choose. The location David chose was 5 minutes from our vacation home. He is a talented photographer-we booked him only through internet reviews and he did not disappoint! You will be thrilled with your David Baldwin photos on the big island!”  Lisa Kahn, November 23, 2016

“While on the Big Island we had our family portrait taken, I know you are thinking boring department store shots… NO! We had a hilarious time with David Baldwin and got photos of a lifetime on the beach. His easy and friendly manner paved the way to not just great photos but a wonderful afternoon… set your appointment today… you won’t regret it!”  Gretchen Osgood, November 13, 2016

“From the quick response to our initial inquiry to the final product was a wonderful experience. David did a great job of making our family feel at ease. The smiles In our photos are genuine and not posed. We highly recommend David and Birgit. AWESOME!”  Nan Jesperson, October 26, 2016

“Can’t say enough good things about David. Truly talented & passionate about his work. AMAZING experience all around & now we have photos to remember our special trip forever! The kids can be tricky for photos as you can imagine and David really gained their trust and managed to keep their interest throughout the entire session. Uncle Beach, as he is affectionately known, is brilliant with children. My 2 year old is till asking about Uncle Beach!  The photos are beyond beautiful. I am so pleased we did this photo shoot, we could never have captured what David could in a brief hour! Brought my wife to tears! love the black and whites – will find so many uses for them – needless to say – we’ll be taking all of them from the session.”   Richard Bockner, October 29, 2016

“Thank you David for working with me these past few months on arranging the perfect engagement setting and photo session…you helped ease nerves with your excitement for the event and was able to capture our favorite moments…you have our 5 star approval for anyone needing/looking for a recommendation…well done sir!” Brian Coleman, October 10, 2016

“We had a blast!! We spent the time having so much fun, laughing and even getting a little wet during it. I could not thank you enough for the experience and I can’t wait to see all the great shots!! I will definitely let you know when we’re back again someday.” Heather Ferro, August 7, 2016

“Thank you David for a wonderful photo session! You are so great to work with! You are so warm, friendly and you work so well with kids! Our two daughters had so much fun and you made the entire experience enjoyable and stress free. Thanks for capturing such beautiful images of our Hawaiian vacation. Thank you to your wife Birgit for making scheduling a breeze and for answering my questions so quickly. I would highly recommend David for anyone seeking family photos in Hawaii!” Rebecca George, August 5, 2016

“One word…. AMAZING!!! Thank you so much for such a wonderful evening and making senior portraits so memorable! I would recommend you 1000 times over! Once again thank you!!!” Anjie VandenBos, July 12, 2016

“Hi David & Birgit. Received my last photo today that I had ordered. Chose for the family photo one that you shot at the beach. Believe this may be the best photo ever of the 12 of us and kudos to you for that being the case. We have been doing photo shoots at Mauna Kea for years – we have so to speak kissed a lot of frogs!!!! Finally we got a “prince” of a photographer!!!! Thank you. We are comfortable and relaxed in photo which shows and I attribute that greatly to you. Again thanks.”  Nelda Pryor, July 3, 2016

“David was excellent in every way. Extremely flexible and accommodating. Excellent in getting the teens and children engaged. Never know what you are getting when booking on-line—we couldn’t be more pleased. 50th wedding anniversary so have worked with many photographers…David is the best. Highly recommend.” Bob and Emily Olsen, June 11, 2016

“I had planned to propose to my girlfriend while on a vacation to Hawaii. I began contact with the resort we were staying at on The Big Island (Hilton Waikoloa Village) and had much of it set up with one thing missing that I knew was possibly the most important: a secret photographer to capture the moment without her knowing. I sorted through a list of ~15 preferred photographers from the resort and emailed them all an initial introductory email to get the ball rolling. David and Birgit responded within a half hour while others trickled in the few days after.
I was so impressed with the quick response and one that seemed so excited to play a role in such a significant moment in our lives. The communication was quick and to the point throughout the whole process (covering many months with intense planning!). All this was done via email and phone, as I was quite the mileage away from Hawaii, all the way in Ohio. David and Birgit made everything much easier and took a lot of stress off of me which I cannot thank them enough for.
The day of, David went above and beyond what I could have asked for, including gathering hotel guests to play as “extras” around the area of the proposal which helped hide what was about to happen. He took amazing photos (some still rolling in) that we both feel so lucky to have and share with family and friends. He showed extreme joy and excitement for us and at how the photos were coming out.
David captured a moment that we will be able to talk about for the rest of our life and that is something that five stars doesn’t do justice; either would 10 or 15. Please, if you are considering any photographer in the area, consider David. Absolutely blown away by everything he and Birgit did. Highly recommend!” Chris Conklin, May 11, 2016

“David, or Beach as he introduced himself as, was amazing! So easy going and fun that my son went from normally photo resistant to a willing model and ham within seconds. I just saw the sample pics and they are gorgeous! … And caught all the different lights plus have the coolest flash drive around! We will be sure to call next time we are coming back and I have already recommended you. … Thank you for such a great experience!” Jill, March 31, 2016

“We experienced a wonderful photo shoot session with David. Right away he made everyone feel so comfortable, including a 2 1/2 year old. We felt like we had known him for years. He is the most professional & engaging photographer we have ever met & his energy level is second to none. The whole family is thrilled with every one of the photos and this speaks volumes to his ability to capture “the moment.” We do not hesitate to recommend David for any photo shoot. Thank you, David, from the whole family, for putting us so at ease & giving us some great memories!” Maureen Smiley, February 1, 2016

“David, It was such a pleasure! Gunnar said “that was so much fun!”. How many 9 year olds say that after a photo shoot! Tonight was a blast – can’t wait to look at the pictures!” Meredith Horning, January 1, 2016

“Omgosh you are MAGIC! We love them!!!!! Thank you, so fast to get a preview! Kai mentioned you were the only photographer she would consider for her pictures! We knew you would make the event magical for all of us! And you did! Mahalo! XoXo” Liz Haven, December 29, 2015

“Thank you David and Birgit for another fantastic family photo session! David captured many precious images for us during our first visit to the Big Island two years ago and again this time. David is wonderful with children and always put them at ease. Our girls just love posing for “Uncle Beach”! Birgit provides prompt, professional, and friendly communication to their clients. They are simply a wonderful team to work with, and we won’t hesitate recommending them to anyone looking for a photographer in beautiful Big Island.” Clara Chiu, November 30, 2015

“You should know our family spent the rest of our trip talking about how much fun our photo session was!!!” Lisa Wood, November 27, 2015

“We just returned home, I wanted to thank you both so much for the amazing pictures. I can’t wait to see the rest of them. The one’s posted on your blog came out simply beautiful, and we all couldn’t be more pleased. It was wonderful working with both of you. David you really brought the best out in my family and made the experience such fun.” Shelly Lieberman, November 16, 2015

“Just a quick note to say thank you again for such a wonderful morning spent with you! Uncle Beach, we love you. It ‘s like seeing family when we are with you! Thank you for your time, endless energy and love for making our family look our best, which isn’t always easy! A very heart-felt MAHALO!!”
Jennifer Canaris, September 25, 2015

“Thank you so much David and Birgit! We love the first look of the pictures ! And we had an absolute blast posing for them. Your enthusiasm was infectious, David – thank you for making us so comfortable and enjoy the process! …Thanks for making our last evening here a magical one! Mahalo!”  Monica & Mahesh, August 22, 2015

“Thank you! I just started to look and feel overwhelmed with emotion seeing our family- so BRAVO! you did it! Great job, I cannot thank you enough! Fondly,Shannon.”  Shannon Williamson, August 15, 2015

“Our experience with David was so much fun. He took beautiful pictures of us and was open to all suggestions from us. I now have many pictures of my husband smiling, which I can never get myself. David made him comfortable, and joked around so he would smile and laugh. Because David was in tune to our surroundings and the lighting from the setting sun, our pictures were beautiful. Thank you David and Birgit for making my birthday a memorable one.” Nancy Swiderski, July 24, 2015

“… we LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the pictures!!! We honestly can’t thank you enough for everything! From the communication, to the location, to the high maintenance Photoshopping of my husband, to the whole photo shoot experience, to seeing our pictures the same day, we enjoyed every minute! My nephew, Jake, is still talking about “the professional pictures he took” & pretty sure my brother & sister-in-law will need to let Jake play around with their DSLR now! David was fabulous with our entire family & this was one of the best family photo shoots we’ve ever had!”   Shannon Meairs, May 14, 2015

“What an amazing way to remember your Hawaii vacation! David is so friendly and takes his time to get amazing pictures! He let the kids feel very involved and comfortable! We are in love with our pictures!”   Tabi Wylie, May 4, 2015

“…We had such a great time during the entire photo shoot. You made the whole process fun and enjoyable… even for the big “kids” who hate getting pictures taken. Thank you so much.”   Janice Pengelly, January 3, 2015

“Our family really enjoyed our time with David. He is so personable and friendly; we were at ease within minutes of meeting him. He was attentive to our expectations for our photos and exceeded them. He is very talented and capable. It was very windy that night but that did not deter him in any way. I highly recommend him!”  Sheri Boyden, January 2, 2015

“David & Birgit,
Thank you for the COOL and GROOVY photo shoot! The family mentioned that it was one of the best sittings they’ve experienced. I’ve made them sit though several in the past and they don’t usual enjoy posing for photos! Thank you for the timely posting and professional correspondence as well. Can’t wait to see all the photos! Mahalo”   Denise Ikeda, December 31, 2014

“Thank you. Thank you. Thank you!!! It was so much fun. We just loved it and the pics are AMAZING. I honestly almost started to cry looking at them because they make me so happy!!! From the bottom of my heart..thank you so much! The sky is super cool…glad we did them tonight:) Can’t wait to see the rest. Thrilled!”   Kai Marriott, August 8, 2014

“You can add our names to each and every testimonial given and it still does not adequately express what a great job you did for the beach photo shoot of our family.  We and our three kids and their spouses loved all the pics you took of us and the grandkids.  I was foolish to think I could just pick the 15 best.   I ended up buying all 170 and wish there were more.  You guys are truly the consummate professionals- from the initial contact with Birgit to get info and set up the shoot to the great picture taking experience with David ably assisted by Lindsey and finally the viewing and purchase online.  Thanks again for making our family get-together in Hawaii even better.”   Larry and Judy Weiner, July 9, 2014

“We cannot recommend David more highly. He was prepared, creative & efficient. He won over the boys quickly and managed to take meaningful photos of all of us in all the various combinations we requested-and then some! We love the happiness he captured. It was a wonderful experience with tremendous results from David. Birgit had samples posted for us by the time we got home from dinner-very exciting for all of us. ”   Mary

“Uncle Beach, these photos are absolutely stunning! This is SO MUCH MORE than we could have possibly expected or imagined. Some of them make me laugh, some bring me to tears – they are all so incredibly special. You caught the essence of our family and words cannot express my gratitude. Thank you for taking the time to ease the kids into the photo shoot (especially my timid 4-year-old daughter). We all had an absolute ball and even 3 hours later, we are all talking about how much fun we had with you. You are truly gifted. These photos will be such special memories now and forever. Our time in Hawaii would not have been the same without these photos…Thank you, with all our hearts. Mahalo.”   Krista

“I am OVER THE MOON!!!! Tears of joy!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE THEM ALL. Can’t wait to see more!!!! This is so special to me!!! You made it happen. I thank you from the bottom of my heart!!! WOW!!”   Sheila, Steven & Serena

“WOW – what a treat! I can’t thank you enough – you were so wonderful to us – and have given us a gift of a lifetime, thank you so much. You took such good care of me in our decision process & pre event planning. Your efforts contributed to the success of the evening so much as well!”   Marla

“Literally sitting here with tears in my eyes. The first photos are so wonderful. Can’t wait to see the rest!!!! Beyond my expectations!”   Cindy

“We had an incredible time and stunning photos. We booked 2 sessions morning and sunset. David was very good at making our 5 year old feel relaxed and have a fun time. He is also super creative and suggests the best lighting and pose. He is very familiar with the scenery of the island. He will spend a lot of time capturing the moments that will become fun family memories.
I highly recommend him and I am sure to request his services when I return to the islands again.
I have previously worked with many photographers and I highly recommend David’s work. He has a very quick turn around time and superb results.“   Anshu

“Aloha Birgit, You were so right about David. He was way beyond what we expected. Fantastic. Thank you again for making this whole thing so very easy. You all are lovely to work with. It could have been a nightmare with someone else! I must tell you that we asked the kids what their favorite part of the trip was, and Maddie said, “the photo session”. I promise. Grayson then said it was a tied between the photo session and the volcano! So there you go David. You beat all the other attractions on the big island.”   Marianne

“When you have your photos taken, the most important thing is to be relaxed and that is exactly the way David works. He made us feel comfortable, it was fun, and we are so happy with how the photos turned out. Narrowing down the list of ones to blow up and give out is near impossible! I can’t wait for our wedding so we can do it all again!
 The administrative side of things was also efficient and the service very friendly. Thank you!”   Nancy

“David thank you so much for a great afternoon and a great experience even my husband enjoyed himself :), the kids had an awesome time and are still talking about “uncle Beach”. Love all the pics.”   Benvinda

“Thank you very much for the incredible photos … Your hospitality, charm, professionalism and talent made our photo session experience amazingly wonderful but also made permanent a very special time in our lives. We were told you were the best photographer in Hawaii but it seems you are also the best on the mainland as well! … you remain my favorite photographer of all time… ”   Maureen & Tyler

“I am beyond thrilled with our pictures. I have been camera shy my entire life …. David, really put me at ease and got some great photos. Our families and friends are just as happy with the photos and our ordering pictures for themselves. ”   Lora & Ethan

808 938 7321

kona photographer hawaii instagram